top of page

Dark Chocolate Fruity Nut Balls


I really try to do my best to keep healthy, homemade snacks and treats on hand! The reason for this is that we all have moments where we need a snack or just really want a treat, but the tendency to grab something less than healthy is high if you have nothing readymade. I am not a fan of store-bought, packaged snack foods because the ingredients are almost always sub-par or less than ideal. Everything I pick up (that my son asks me for when we are grocery shopping) has something in it that I would prefer he didn't eat…canola oil, too much sugar, unsprouted wheat, carageenan, guar gum… No thanks! My personal belief is that if there is not nutritional benefit to a food- why eat it? My body is my temple, and I don't like for nonsense to cross the threshold…that goes double for my son!

Anyhow! When we tire of plain nuts or fruits…these are a fun treat! They are full of nutrition and the ingredient list is simple.

INSTRUCTIONS:

In a food processor (fitted with the "S" blade), place...

1-1/4 cups sprouted hazelnuts

1-1/4 cups dried figs and dates

2 tbsp maple syrup

Blend until smooth and dough-like.

Roll this into balls and place on a parchment lined baking tray. However big you like your balls, but not too big. A spoonful should do.

In a double boiler, place...

Your favorite dark chocolate bar (hopefully fair trade), broken (about 1-1/2 cups)

1 tbsp + 1 tsp coconut oil

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

(add 1/4 tsp hazelnut extract if you have it, or try almond)

(remember that if your chocolate pot touches the boiling water…it will burn. Keep it above the water and just stir until melted. Turn off the heat once the chocolate has melted.)

Then...

Using a spoon, swirl your balls in the melted chocolate. (The ones you just made in the food processor. Don't anyone write to me that you burned yourself.) Place them back on to the parchment when they are coated. When you've finished the tray- place your balls in the freezer for half an hour. Then remove and store in the refrigerator.

The ingredients of a trail mix in a delightful ball!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page